Hopeful new year

A happy new year to both my readers… I rang Erin just after midnight to wish her a happy new year—of course, where she is it was still 2007; in fact, at 6.10 am here, it’s still 2007 there! The world seems big, just at the moment… 

I have an ambivalence towards the new year. On the one hand, I do get more energy when the year is young; on the other, after countless broken new year resolutions, it’s also a time to be reminded of my own weaknesses. It’s like the difference between hope and optimism: optimism depends on favourable circumstances, while hope depends on the God in whose hands we are held.

I may not be optimistic for 2008, but I am hopeful.

Leave a comment

Filed under reflection

Leave a Reply

