Poem from a Normandy crucifix of 1632

I found this wonderful poem on Bishop Alan’s Blog. It’s a wonderful meditation for Good Friday and Easter Saturday: 
 
I am the great sun, but you do not see me,
I am your husband, but you turn away.
I am the captive, but you do not free me,
I am the captain but you will not obey.
 
I am the truth, but you will not believe me,
I am the city where you will not stay.
I am your wife, your child, but you will leave me,
I am that God to whom you will not pray.
 
I am your counsel, but you will not hear me,
I am your lover whom you will betray.
I am the victor, but you do not cheer me,
I am the holy dove whom you will slay.
 
I am your life, but if you will not name me,
Seal up your soul with tears, and never blame me.
 
Charles Causley
From a Normandy crucifix of 1632
 
3 Comments

Filed under reflection

3 responses to “Poem from a Normandy crucifix of 1632

  1. I know and love the poem “From a Norman Crucifix.” I also knew Charles Causley who wrote it. I often encountered him in the local bookshop in Launceston. I was a parish priest in Launceston and now work in Hayle. I’m a Cornishman.

Leave a Reply

