Time is fleeting

It’s astounding, time is fleeting
Madness takes its toll
But listen closely, not for very much longer
I’ve got to keep control

Time is fleeting, but this isn’t another Advent reflection. This time last week, my blog received 662 visits in one day (normal average just over 20 visits a day). For a brief—fleeting—time, I had the fastest-growing English-speaking WordPress blog in the world. Over successive days, the number of visits went to 287, then 96, 68… and back to the usual number. I guess I had the fastest-declining English-speaking WordPress blog in the world.

What happened? I linked here to a video of the Wiggles singing the U2 song, Angel of Harlem. The U2 fans came out in droves.

It’s tempting to find more crazy U2 covers and put them in… But I only put that one in because I love the show it was on, Spicks and Specks.

It’s tempting to do it again…

I remember doing the TIme Warp
Drinking those moments when
The blackness would hit me and the void would be calling
Let’s do the time warp again…
Let’s do the time warp again!

 

Now I’ve had 15 minutes of something akin to fame, it’s tempting to do whatever it was again. But that way lies madness…

 

With a bit of a mind flip
You’re there in the time slip
And nothing can ever be the same
You’re spaced out on sensation, like you’re under sedation
Let’s do the Time Warp again!

Yes, time is fleeting. And focussing on things that might bring some kind of short-lived boost at the expense of ultimate realities is tempting. And the Time Warp seems kinda exciting…

But I reckon one thing Advent teaches us is that the Lord is Lord of time. We can put our time in God’s hands, and then go for the ride. 20-odd visitors is kinda ok.

(You didn’t really believe I wouldn’t try to get Advent into this, did you?)
Leave a comment

Filed under church year, reflection

Leave a Reply

